Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF) Split PhD Program – 2016/17

I am glad to announce to the general public that Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF) Split PhD Scholarship Program application is now on sale

In line with the PTDF’s commitment towards the domestication of its training programmes in reputable institutions within Nigeria the Fund began the PTDF Split-site PhD Program.PTDF Scholarship logo

The PTDF Split PhD scholarship recipients are therefore expected to undertake the full-time PhD degree over three years and are expected to split their PhD study period one to two (1:2) between The Foreign University and their respective Nigerian University.

A Split PhD is a PHD program which allows an individual to split their research time between a foreign institution and an institution in the home country where they live and work. A minimum of one year is usually spent in the foreign institution and the remainder to complete their research in the home country institution, with regular communication with the supervisor overseas.

Check this:

PTDF 2016/2017 PhD Overseas & Local Scholarship Scheme – How to Apply

PTDF 2016/2017 Master’s Overseas & Local Scholarship Scheme – How to Apply

Nigerian Universities Eligible to Participate in The Split PhD Program

  1. University of Port Harcourt
  2. University of Ibadan
  3. University of Nigeria Nsukka
  4. University of Benin
  5. University of Jos
  6. University of Maiduguri
  7. Ahmadu Bello University
  8. Usman Dan Fodio University
  9. Federal University of Technology, Owerri
  10. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
  11. University of Calabar
  12. University of Uyo
  13. Bayero University Kano
  14. Federal University of Technology, Minna
  15. University of Ilorin

Foreign Universities on The Program

  1. University College London
  2. Newcastle University
  3. University of Central Lancashire
  4. Cranfield University
  5. University of York

However if eligible candidates identify and agree with supervisors in the following Universities for the Split PhD program, they may apply for the scholarship:

  1. Imperial College London
  2. University of Manchester
  3. University of Warwick
  4. University of Leeds
  5. Heriot Watt University
  6. UNSW, Australia
  7. Universities in Germany
  8. Other PTDF Partner Universities

Applying for PTDF Split-PhD Scholarship

PTDF application forms will be available online from August 2015 for prospective candidates interested in the PTDF Split PhD program. The approved petroleum related research areas will be contained in the PTDF application form.

For information on how to apply for the Split-Site PhD Programme, please click this link: Split PhD Programme

Please note the following:

  • For now the program is open to academic staff in the PTDF upgraded universities only.
  • Split PhD Scholarships will be available for the 2016/2017 academic session.
  • The PhD qualification will be as agreed by the Foreign University (either a dual certification or an award of the Foreign or Nigerian University).
  • The scholarship provides for candidates to undertake their PhD partly in Nigeria and partly Overseas and to be supervised by a Nigerian supervisor and a foreign co-supervisor.
  • The period of residence at the foreign University will normally be a maximum of one third (1/3) of the PhD (ie a maximum of 1 year based on the maximum allowable period for completion of a 3 year study) and this period will normally include the second part of the first year of the PhD program or as agreed between the two Universities. Ideally, the time period at each location will be negotiated between the supervisors, candidate and the respective universities prior to the commencement of the PhD studies. It is important to NOTE that the length of stay in any foreign University throughout the program MUST NOT exceed 12 months and a maximum of two visits.
  • Each selected Split PhD candidate will normally be supervised by an approved supervisor from the foreign University and an approved supervisor from one of the participating Nigerian universities.
  • The scholarship covers full tuition and applicable service fees for up to three (3) years which include accommodation and living expenses, return air tickets, field trips, conference attendance, costs associated with supervision (including the cost of travel, accommodation and living expenses of supervisors for at least one trip each year to each other’s university for the purpose of supervising their respective candidates).
  • Any academic staff member of a participating Nigerian university who wishes to secure the PTDF Split PhD scholarship will need to apply for admission to the PhD program and will be required to meet all the Nigerian and foreign University selection criteria and other course requirements.


For more information, contact Phone number: +234-9-3142216-7, Fax: 234-9-314229, Email:


MyEduGist Team

If you have any question on this Post, kindly drop them in the comment section. I promise to get back to you as soon as possible.

Also don’t hesitate to sign up for our Newsletters, like us on  Facebook, follow us on Twitter and Google+


Article by Nicholas

Nicholas Babatunde Lateef is a Blogger and Career Builder (Business and Educational Consultant). He is the Founder and CEO of MyEduGist. He has the passion to provide useful and quality update about Education, Examinations and Scholarships worldwide. You can also like him on Facebook, follow him on Twitter and Google+.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *